top of page

Senegal, Africa!!!

My Travel 

Blog:

April 16th- May 2nd

Read below!

Guiding Question:

How do the people of Senegal define happiness?

Search
  • Writer's pictureVickie Obenchain

Celebrating our last evening together



On our last full night together in Dakar, we all dressed in our Senegalese tailored traditional dresses went to a nice hotel for dinner. The last two weeks were spent learning about Senegalese history and their school system, falling in love with their hospitality, food, children and our host communities and realizing how a group of 13 American Teachers, which were at one point strangers with a common goal, could become close friends and share such a fantastic experience. Our last night was spent enjoying each others company, reflecting on our experience and getting excited to share this experience with our school community. It is hard to believe this experience is coming to an end, all year we have been working towards this experience.


My hope however is that it is not the end, it is the beginning of a relationship with our host community. Carmen and I had some great ideas to keep the connections going. Hopefully, come this summer we can work together to make that happen! And keep my students involved as well.


And I hope to continue my relationship with these amazing teachers I have met through this program. I love being inspired by people who drive me to achieve more, and these 13 amazing individuals definitely have done so.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page