top of page

Senegal, Africa!!!

My Travel 

Blog:

April 16th- May 2nd

Read below!

Guiding Question:

How do the people of Senegal define happiness?

Search
  • Writer's pictureVickie Obenchain

My favorite things from Senegal

There are so many things I don't want to forget about my experience. So many things that were beautiful in their own way. Things that were unique to Senegal and their culture which I don't want to slip away, yet some of these things are feelings you get while experiencing their culture, or while in the moment, but never the less, I hope when I think back I don't forget these things.


1. The ability to buy anything from your car window. Vendors walk down the crowded streets while cars are stuck in traffic and sell you items through your car or van window. These included: art work, accessories: bags, necklaces and bracelets, Nescafe, cashews, the Koran, rugs, coat racks, furniture, tea, rat traps, underwear, toys: superman dolls/etch-a-sketches, shoes/flip flops, really almost anything

2. The beautiful children, who play in the streets all night with other neighborhood children until the evening call to prayer. It reminded me of when I was younger and my parents would tell us just to be home before dark. Neighborhoods are so community based here. The children are raised not just by their parents but by the community. They visit and are welcomed into each others homes, saying hi, grabbing fruit and heading back out to play all day long.



3. The animals. In Dakar, I almost missed the sound of sheep and donkeys outside.


4. The kindness, and welcoming nature of our host family and his friends. In particular: Mr. Cains smile every time he saw Carmen and myself was so genuine and made us feel right at home, Salu's silly nature that had him and Carmen giggled together, the Mother's welcoming Wolof greeting each time we came to her home. Our Trump fan and sweet driver for the week and their kind families. And of course, Lamin's laugh as he made us feel like one of his family members as he teased us, made us the best tea in Senegal and shared his culture with us.



5. The wonderful evening out at the cultural evening that had Carmen and I smiling from ear to ear.


6. Walking down the road at night in Theis, seeing the city come alive.


7. Seeing the students take part in our lesson on Rockets. I loved seeing how happy science can make students everywhere :) I also love seeing the students play with snow, they reminded me so much of my own students!


8. My amazing co-teacher for the week. I can not think of what this week would have been without her. Hoping we continue this partnership!


9. Things that stand out from my time in Senegal:

Tolerance: Muslims and Christians living in harmony, Westerners welcomed in to their society to the fullest; no annoyance that they do not speak the language or dress differently.

Community and Hospitality: Their sense of community is inspirational. They see each other as brother and sisters, there to look after one another. It is seen everywhere; in their community, classroom, homes and even on the street. It is something I have never experienced before. They embrace and welcome visitors. It is no wonder why they are known as the country of hospitality.

My own gratitude: For this wonderful experience, for the wonderful students I met, for the great host teacher we had, and for my own students and school community. I am truly grateful for this wonderful life.


10. How sweet my students are: From the great letters they wrote, to the candy and items they donated, and their sweet signs when I returned. (Even if they were a bit dramatic!) I felt so welcomed home and so excited to share my experience.


There are many more things, but after a few days of reflection, these stand out as some of my favorites!



79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page